Undercover Doctor: Cure me, I’m Gay – updated*

 

Gay Star News reports…

“A ‘therapist’ is threatening to sue after a UK documentary featured his theory that gay people can be ‘cured’ using crayons.

Jerry Mungadze, a Zimbabwe minister turned Texas neurotherapist, was featured in a Channel 4 film Cure Me I’m Gay.

In the show, gay British doctor Christian Jessen set out to experience ‘gay cure’ treatments offered around the world.

He meets with Mugandze, undercover, in order to experience his theory that children’s wax crayons could be the key in ‘curing’ homosexuality.

During the session, the therapist gave Jessen a picture of a brain and asks him to color it in.

‘Part of your pain is growing up like you don’t belong in your family, this is what the brown means,’ Mugandze said, as captured by the undercover cameras.

‘So this grey is seducing brown and brown starts agreeing whatever grey is, not knowing that grey is trying to steal your sexuality.’

Flummoxed, Jessen asked how coloring in a picture of a brain could possibly help ‘cure’ anything.

‘It seems that the therapy is analysing the different colors on my brain picture and then, over a number of sessions, working to change the colors until somehow I become heterosexual,’ the British doctor says.

‘As a medical doctor, I can’t see how you can learn anything about a patient’s hormones based on a colored-in picture. He’s just talking utter nonsense.’

Surprisingly, during the session Mugandze also admitted to being color-blind.

Mugandze now denies he is a ‘gay cure’ therapist and is consulting his lawyers after he received hate mail.

‘These people they are not going to hurt my business. I don’t work with them,’ he told Dallas Morning News.

‘I am not a gay therapist. I see all kinds of people all day long. These people for whatever reason are attacking me.’

He added: ‘My job is to heal people, not to teach them how to behave morally or spiritually. I don’t want to get side-tracked with that.

‘The people who want to come to me for help will always come. If I sue these people it will be to make sure they do responsible things, not because I want to prove something.’

While Mugandze said he was not a ‘gay conversion’ therapist, he stressed he does not believe people are ‘born gay’.

‘If anyone says people are born this way, they would have a hard time convincing the scientific world of that,’ he said.

‘But I’ve never made homosexuality an issue in therapy.’

In a statement made to Gay Star News, a Channel 4 spokesperson said: ‘The footage shown of Dr Christian Jessen receiving therapy from Dr Jerry Mungadze is a fair and accurate reflection of the therapy session.

‘Dr Jerry Mungadze was given the opportunity to reply to the issues raised in the program but the production company received no response.’

The majority of mainstream health organizations are opposed to ‘gay cure’ therapies, describing it as dangerous for a person’s mental health.

See Mugandze explaining his ‘treatment’ below”

From http://www.gaystarnews.com/article/my-crayon-gay-cures-are-not-nonsense-therapist-tells-c4-lawsuit-threat250314

 

14 thoughts on “Undercover Doctor: Cure me, I’m Gay – updated*

  1. I recorded the program and just finished watching it. I do not believe that there is a cure for being gay, because it’s not an illness nor is it a choice. What I have a problem with is his religious views. Making it sound like all Christians feel the way that was expressed in the programme. I’m a Christian and I do not share the view of any Christian that was featured in the show. My views are stated above. Furthermore it is not my place to judge anybody. Nobody is perfect!

    Like

  2. Matthew 7:6 NIV
    [6] “Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces.

    Like

  3. Lol @ who’s cherry picking.

    You tell me what Jesus said about homosexuality in your Gospel according to Craig.

    Like

  4. @ Craig

    So I take it God still wants gays puts to death.

    I mean God is the same yesterday, today and forever.

    Like

  5. So eating crabs is still an abomination?

    Some people need to stop trying to justify their bigotry using religion.

    Btw if God never changes why aren’t you out slaughtering non-believers and idolators?

    Like

  6. if your not a Christian what I said makes no sense, if you are a Christian what I said is true , God is the same yesterday , today and forever. God has not changed his views and everything
    I have said is in line with the bible. If God says he condones the things I refer to as sins please tell me where it states it in the bible and I will apologise to you.

    Like

  7. Well Jane you have become a friend of the world what does the bible say about homosexuality , and your a Christian so you would know what it says , and you seem to have missed my point , if you have a struggle in life and we all do then we fight it for me it was drugs should I just continue with using drugs I like using them it makes me feel good , no because in the end is death so I fight it and sometimes I fall, it is easier just to say its good I was born that way.

    Like

  8. Craig, tell me you are joking…..I’m a completely straight woman and I cannot believe that you consider homosexuality as ‘not normal’. What is your definition of ‘normal’? With attitudes like this, no one would choose to be gay. It is not a disease, it is not a lifestyle choice, it’s the way some people are, just like some men find slim, blonde women attractive, others prefer brunettes…. which one of those choices is ‘normal’? Are men abnormal if they find larger, red haired women attractive?

    And yes I am a good practising Christian but this does not mean I have not ‘sinned’ in other ways…do I think I am a bad person for it, acually no, any true believer believes that God accepts all… any sensible, educated person is aware that bigotry in any form is a far worse ‘sin’.

    At the end of the day, if no one else is being hurt by someone’s actions then let them get on with it. Besides, myself and my husband obviously do not have your insecurities which is why have gay friends and have no issue with this.

    You are obviously a very insecure person if you cannot see that quite frankly, this is not an issue. I have 2 sons and honestly if the only ‘issue’ we have to deal with is that they are gay then I will be one extremely proud mum…..It’s not what I would chose for them due to the reaction of people like you but it’s not my choice and it won’t be a choice for them either. Maybe they are ga, maybe they ae not…only time will tell……

    May I respectfully suggest you seek therapy for your obvious contempt.

    Like

  9. If I believe I’m a dog I’d be called crazy and they would try to rehabilate me , if I’m a man and feel I’m a woman that’s not crazy. If I’m a drug addict , sex addict , gambler they treat me and help me fight my problem , if I’m gay that’s ok and normal ” some times what we want is not right and not what’s best for us” , telling someone with a the struggle of homosexuality it’s normal is not right “love the person hate the sin”, it’s a struggle yes but it’s not normal or right to engage in homosexual activity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

