Cult Brothers

 

The Australian reports…

“They called him “Killer Moore”, the Christian brother whose “liberal” use of a leather strap sparked fear in almost every child at Bindoon Farm School.

Such was his reputation that Clifford Walsh “feared him” more than any other brother at the institution even though he was also brutally raped by a number of the others.

Mr Walsh was just nine when he received his first beating by Brother Moore, his second day at Bindoon.

He learnt very quickly the ferocity of his wrath. And his supposed crime? Being unable to carry a heavy crow bar for three miles.

Mr Walsh is the fifth person to give evidence at the first public hearing of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses into Child Sex Abuse in Perth.

The commission is investigating how the Christian Brothers and successive WA governments responded to allegations of abuse at four homes at Bindoon, Contarf, Tardun and Castledare.

“I feared Brother Moore than any other,” Mr Walsh told the hearing. “I thought he was liberal with the strap. The other boys and I used to call him Killer Moore.

“On my second day at Bindoon, when I was nine years old, we were told to we were going to build a fence.

“A lot of the children were given tools to take to the site. Me and another boy were handed a crow bar and told to take it three miles on foot.

“After a few hundred yards the bar became very heavy … we were late arriving at the site.

Brother Moore proceeded to punch both the other child and myself mercilessly.

“He punched me mainly to my face but also my chest. I was sobbing uncontrollably. Brother Moore then sat us on his knee and tried to console us. This only made me cry more.”

Mr. Walsh said he thought the treatment was normal.

“They beat children in the middle of meals,” he said.

Mr Walsh, an orphan from England who was sent to Bindoon when he was 10, said one brother, Christopher Angus, raped him not long after he arrived at the school.

Another brother, Bruno Doyle, beat him so frequently, Mr Walsh said he believed the man got a kick out of it.

“I knew no other life and so I had no life … I could compare with,” Mr Walsh said.

Left so traumatised by his experiences at the school, he now has trouble being affectionate with his only son.

“He hugs me and I hate it,” he said. “When he hugs me I push him away.”

Mr Walsh said he received no education at Bindoon and was forced into hard labour.

Justice to him, he said, would be the Christian Brothers admitting the wrong they had done.

“And doing something about it,” he said….”

From http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/day-two-royal-commission-evidence-regular-beatings-sexual-abuse-and-hard-labour/story-e6frg6n6-1226899716589

 

Leave a Reply

