Have a blessed day

 

WXIX reports…

“A former Northern Kentucky bank teller claims she was fired from her job for telling customers to “Have a blessed day.”

“I say ‘have a blessed day’ all of the time,” says Polly Neace. “I don’t think there’s any better kind of day you can have than a blessed day.”

Neace filed a lawsuit against U.S. Bank claiming she was discriminated against for her religious beliefs.

Neace clams after years of saying “Have a blessed day” to customers, she was reprimanded in March 2011.

In a Code of Ethics violation, US Bank states several customers complained when Neace said, “Have a blessed day.”

The written warning also states that Neace asked a customer, “Did you take the Lord’s name in vain?” and then proceeded to talk to that customer about salvation.

FOX19 legal analyst Mike Allen says Neace may have crossed a legal line.

“Where you actually go and take a step further and actually perhaps try to convert or persuade someone to your religious beliefs, that’s where an employer can step in and take action,” Allen says.

That Code of Ethics Violation warns Neace that “effective immediately you will no longer discuss the subject of faith or religion with customers and co-workers alike.”

“I was upset with the fact they were stifling me and not allowing me to act on my beliefs,” Neace says.

Neace admits she was reprimanded again a few months later.

“A customer went through the drive thru and I waited on them. She said, ‘God bless you.’ I said, ‘Thank you, God bless you too,” says Neace.

And then, after complaining about a situation at the bank, Neace claims she jokingly told a manager she might as well go back to saying, “Have a blessed day” and be fired.

The next day, Neace was fired.

She later filed the lawsuit against U.S. Bank.

“I can’t back down from this. It’s the principle behind everything,” says Neace.

In a statement, U.S. Bank says that “At U.S. Bank, we hold our employees to high ethical standards when interacting with customers and co-workers, and take violations of these standards seriously. While we cannot comment provide comment on pending litigation, we believe that this lawsuit is without merit and believe the facts presented in future legal proceedings will justify our actions.”

From http://www.fox19.com/story/25927380/have-a-blessed-day

 

One thought on “Have a blessed day

  1. I personally can’t stand US Bank. They are such hypocrites anyway (especially regarding their comment about high ethical standards). I remember years ago when some friends and myself had accounts there and we found out that they were offering special financial benefits for same-sex couples (benefits which, by-the-way, were not offered to straight couples). They were literally catering to the gay community. Out of principle my friend and I decided to withdraw our accounts (also as a matter of personal conscience). When the manager at the local branch was confronted about the matter by my friend, he denied that US Bank gave any such special benefits to any group based on sexual orientation. I was told the same thing when I went in to complain. My friend was told that this was misinformation, absolutely false, and that US Bank did not give special interest to gay individuals… Then, my friend showed the manager an advertisement from a gay magazine, which very blatantly described the benefits… The manager admitted it was true and closed my friend’s account immediately as requested. Guess what this is called… It’s call a bold faced lie and doesn’t exactly describe ethical behavior as far as I’m concerned. They were also quite rude during the course of this interchange. They are (to put it quite bluntly) liars and jerks. Of course, that doesn’t mean every employee there is that way, but I’m referring to how the bank chooses to implement policy overall and, in this case I described, more than one employee (including management) did lie to our faces about the matter. To top it off (with a side-detail annoyance), they won’t even cash a check drawn from their own bank unless the non-member opens an account or pays $5.

    I’m so sick of political correctness. Who in the hell gets offended at someone saying God bless you. Crap, people say that when someone sneezes. Give me a break! What, do you suppose you’ll need to go to the hospital if someone mentions God in a kind greeting? You’re pathetic! If you’re getting offended at someone saying “have a blessed day” (blessed just means “happy” by-the-way), you need to get a life and stop acting like an whiny ass idiot. Hey look, I know some Christians can be extra cheesy in how they come across at times… I was hatched in church world and have seen more than my fair share (and have engaged in some past-tense cheesiness myself). It becomes second nature to most Christians because they’re raised around it. It’s really no different than when someone from the south says, “Howdy y’all,” instead of “Hello and good afternoon sir.” People getting offended at this kind of stuff is just stupid and for a bank institution to endorse this kind of stupidity is even more stupid… Did I mention that I think it’s stupid?

    I know a guy that comes into my office frequently whom, when you ask him “how’s it going” he can’t just say “good, thanks” or “fine” like most folks do, but instead he always answers, “I’m blessed.” Sometimes he gets even more preachy than that (and says something like, “Since Jesus saved me, I’m blessed”)… It annoys a few folks and he gets giggled at behind his back by some people because they think he’s odd, but one thing I’ll give the guy… he’s consistent and genuine and always positive and friendly. He’s that way on and off the clock and him telling people he’s blessed certainly isn’t causing anyone any trouble, so what do I care how he wishes to express himself. In fact, GOD BLESS HIM!

    As to whether or not I agree with the woman’s decision to sue the bank, I have mixed feelings about that… On the one hand I feel like saying, “good for her!” I hope she wins or at least puts US Bank in the limelight to expose their idiotic political correctness. She should have the freedom to say “God bless you” or “Have a blessed day” or even (I dare say) share her faith in the course of friendly, private conversation so long as that doesn’t interfere with the job or cause problems for the business (and I do suspect that her actions are exaggerated by the bank).

    I once worked for a corporation in Seattle where the boss gave me constant personal (non-official) reprimands saying that maybe I should spend more time in thought about work while away from work on the weekend instead of going to church. She would often make little jabs like that – always with reference to my faith. It turned out that my boss was carrying a major chip on her shoulder because her father had been an abusive Pentecostal preacher when she was a young girl so she basically hated Christians. She took it out on anyone at work who had a personal faith in God. In my case, I never once said anything to her about my faith (and was not an outspoken person at all, in fact), but she knew I was a Christian from one of my co-workers who went to the same church as me at the time. She wrote me up for disciplinary action one time stating that other employees had written letters to her about my work ethic, but would not produce evidence of the letters when I asked. All of the employees were also my friends and I knew there was no truth to any of this. My point is, she had a problem with God (or at least Christians) and took it out on others using her position. It wouldn’t surprise me one bit if a similar scenario is true with the bank circumstance.

    However, if this woman is using work-time to proselytize customers or giving the impression that the bank endorses her religious beliefs, I would support the bank’s right to regulate that behavior… for the same reason that if I was a Christian business owner, I wouldn’t likely appreciate a Muslim pushing his religious beliefs on customers. However, if he were simply giving a friendly greeting or exercising personal conversation in the workplace, so long as it didn’t interfere with his duties or the duties of the other employees, he should be free to exercise free speech and that includes free religious speech.

    Whatever the legality here, the thing I am most annoyed with is the hyper-sensitivity and political correctness on the part of the bank… especially considering at how unethical and anti-morality and faith this bank has been in the past on various issues (at least from my experience and knowledge). Just check the Rip Off Report website and read all the reports of folks who have been treated badly by this organization from excessively high overdraft fees, to hidden checking charges, to poor treatment of retired military veterans, rude staff and more. Also look up how The National Fair Housing Alliance filed a federal discrimination complaint against them for poor maintenance of foreclosed homes in African American communities compared with excellent maintenance in White communities. There just seems to be a lot of reports like this of the bank (including especially from my own experience), so I’m far from having the opinion they’re innocent in the matter with this lady, who is probably a very nice person who is just happy and expressive of her faith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

