Jarryd Hayne apology

 

Sportal reports…

“After posting religious tweets that outraged the Jewish community recently, Jarryd Hayne has apologised over Twitter.

His tweet today reads as follows:

“To the Jewish community…

“I sincerely apologize for my tweets on July 1. I have come to understand how my words were hurtful to the Jewish community and this was not my intention. I immediately took the tweets down one I realised my words were incorrect.

“I have and will always accept people of all faiths. I encourage my fans around the world to do the same.”

His tweet was signed off with his initials JH and #WeAreAllOne.

Hayne, currently trialling for a final roster spot with the San Francisco 49ers, was compelled to apologise after a couple of religious tweets earlier this month.

Hayne tweeted on July 1, “Jesus wanted to help people but was killed by his own people.”

And later on the same day: “The Jews were the people who took him to the Romans n forced them to give the order because they couldn’t.”

Both tweets were deleted soon after as they attracted widespread criticism.

The former Parramatta Eels star is deeply religious and attended the Hillsong conference in Sydney a few weeks ago.”

From http://www.sportal.com.au/league/news/jarryd-hayne-apologises-for-offensive-religious-tweets/1r6c0jsu5qhpz12avlpcob66ah

28 thoughts on “Jarryd Hayne apology

  1. If it is wrong to quote a passage of the Bible on a broadcast medium like Twitter, then it follows that it was wrong for God to write that passage and encourage it to be broadcast all over the world.

    Jarryd can plead ignorance but I dont think God can.

    Like

  2. There’s no more anti-semitic gospel then John’s. Even the prologue – “The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it” is aimed squarely at the Jews – the darkness, the sons of the devil. All the exclusivist verses such as “No one comes to the Father but through me” are aimed primarily at the Jews.

    Like

  3. “So in some instances when the Bible says ‘all’ it can mean ‘some’. ”

    Probably many. But yes. Exactly.

    “Although presumably not when it says ‘All have sinned’. ”

    Yes, all have sinned. But if you want to ask if a 1 day old baby has sinned, then you’re talking about something completely different. If you’d like to keep examining the use of every, all in the Bible and English literature and everyday speech, then go ahead. But you probably wouldn’t last a day without infuriating people.

    “everybody wants to be loved”… most people get that. Wazza would ask if that means a one year old baby in a coma has a cognitive realization of its need for love. Maybe its unfair because the baby doesn’t know the word love and can’t speak for itself. Get my point yet? No? Okay, just talk to anyone over about 5.

    “By what authority do you decide that it can mean ‘some’?”
    Context. The same way we do in normal life. In the marines when they say everyone has to put on their boots now, it means 100% of the people in the room. When someone says Everyone Loves Raymond, i leave room for the fact that while he may be popular , there may in fact be some people who not only don’t love him, but haven’t heard of him.. But, I’m not going to start phoning the US over it.

    Perhaps this is something you and we all will spend the rest of our lives thinking about. But, no I don’t know if EVERYONE including the two year olds said that sentence. And no, I really don’t know if everyone going out to be baptised mean 60% of adults or 75% or 83%. It doesn’t bother me. and I don’t think the gospel writer was a liar. You probably do, and think he had sinister reasons.

    Why are you a Christian, and what in the bible do you think is true? And why?
    That’s the more important question.

    “But lets leave that aside – lets say that some of the people said “His blood be upon us and upon our Children!” .”

    Okay.

    “But they were presumably wrong weren’t they?”

    Well, that was an expression taking responsibity.

    “Because you don’t believe that His blood is on their Children.”

    I would not persecute any Jews, 1st century or this century because of that statement. I’ve never even thought of it. In history some people have. But in history lots of people have done lots of horrible things based on the words of the Bible or the guy down the street.

    “So what is the point of the Bible recording that utterance by some of the Jews?”

    Ask the writer and God. I think it was recorded because they said it. There are lots of things recorded in the Bible. Some thought when Jesus walked on water that they were seeing a ghost. Why did the Bible record it that way. I think its because some said they thought it was a ghost.
    Too simple?

    “Presumably they said other things as well – “What are we having for dinner tonight?”,”

    Perhaps they did, but not right at that time. And no, you are right. Not everything everyone said during the lifetime of Jesus was recorded. I don’t think conversations about dinner or prices of doves were that important. But, yes , the crowd and/or religious leaders consenting to the crucifixion of Jesus was worthy of being recorded. The bible recorded that David slept with bathsheba. It doesn’t say what brand of cigarettes he smoked afterwards. You are free to imagine and fret over that.

    The bIble records that Peter denied Jesus three times. And the the disciples all fled. Doesn’t make them look great does it. Perhaps the Bible is anti-disciple? And no, it doesn’t say whether Peter had a big mac on the way home or whether he ordered fries with it. I suppose that makes you incredibly curious and suspicious.

    ” But no, the Bible records the false self-incriminating confession and blood curse.”
    Yes it did.

    “Why?”

    Because they said it? And the Bible was showing that he came to his own and they received him not? The bible also records that those miserable disciples went to sleep three times. And Peter denied him. The gospel writers to varying degrees wrote details of Jesus death. Given that the crowd or 78/5 % or them said “Crucify hIm” and then a few other said “Yeah” and some others thought about it but couldn’t get into the chanting rhythm I think its wroth recording. I would have. You wouldn’t. But I also believe in the inspiration of scripture. I know that maybe many don’t. Fine.

    “Particularly when it has been interpreted so harshly by later Christians and led to millions of deaths? ”

    So are we talking about the holocaust now? So the gospel writer was wrong for writing that because he should have known that 1900 years later a mental Austrian would…… Think about it.

    By they way, I’ve read war stories. Lots of them. If in it a guy said “Quick mackm the Japs have beheaded Jacko! And when they conronted the guards the “all said. We will not stop till all the western dogs are enslaved!”. and then years later one of your children starts bombing Japanese tourists buses…….

    okay, I don’t even know why i have to explain every tiny thing. You guys will go after every little thing you can about Hillsong, a young footballer, and a first century writer of what happened when Jesus died.

    “Now Haynes can’t even repeat that passage on twitter because it is so painful for so many people”

    Well there are lots of things that I think are able to be said but offered people because its painful.
    I don’t see anything wrong with what he said. If you said on Twitter that so many people suffered because of the Japanese in WW2, I can tell you that you would have offended millions of people.
    There are so many things that are true that can’t be said because of people getting offended.

    The crowd of Jews at the time consented to the death of Jesus, and the Jewish religious leaders handed him over.

    I realize also that there are many people who get offended at the words of Jesus condeming the pharisees. Just remember that the next time you call someone a Pharisee.

    We know that in history some people have used

    “Couldn’t God have forseen what was to happen?”

    Okay, now that’s a very deep question. That is beyond my ability to answer. I don’t know why God didn’t prevent lots of car crashes, and the storm that caused them, or allowed Hitler to escape the assassination attempt or even survive childbirth. That’s a question for bigger minds than mine.

    “Why include that passage?”

    Because the crowd (100% or 80% or one spokesman said it and the others said oi oi oi – I’m open to scholars opinions”. But it was worthy of recording.

    Some Muslims rejoiced at the World Trade Centre attack. Some news agencies reported that. If a world leader were assassinated tomorrow and one random guy on twitter said “That’s good” it will probably be reported on.

    Let’s face it. Hayne – one footballer that most of the world hasn’t heard of made one comment and its being reported on, even in places like Groupsects and causing Bones and Wazza no end of consternation……so is it a surprise that when the crowd yelled that (and perhaps you don’t believe they ever said that and the gospel writer just lied in order to get the Romans to beat up some Jews…..) – that it was recorded. No. I think it was significant.

    Probably if you were listening in Sunday School you’d realise that what the Bible teaches is that Jesus was the Son of God doing miracles and preaching about the love of God and the kingdom of God.

    He was handed over to the Romans by the Jewish leaders with the support of the crowd who only perviously had welcomed him, and he was deserted by those closest to us.

    He who knew no sin became sin. All we like sheep have gone astray. I don’t consider myself any better that the Romans, the Jewish crowd, Barrabas, Peter, James and John or anyone.

    That is the gospel story and its beautiful. Christ loved us before we loved him.

    Maybe you don’t believe that or get it. I hope one day you will.

    And after saying all that, I love Jews, Jewish People. Never persecuted anyone. And I even stand with Israel. I am so thankful and in awe of the incredible achievements of Jewish people.

    And I can tell you that there were thousands of American troops who while might recount the gospel stories and say that at the time the Jews handed over Jesus to be killed, who gave their own lives to liberate concentration camps and like me pray that not one Jewish person would ever be killed.

    That’s another reason btw why I think we have to do something about these horrible people who want to wipe Israel off the face of the earth. Terrible isn’t it?

    Like

  4. So in some instances when the Bible says ‘all’ it can mean ‘some’. Although presumably not when it says ‘All have sinned’. By what authority do you decide that it can mean ‘some’?

    But lets leave that aside – lets say that some of the people said “His blood be upon us and upon our Children!” . But they were presumably wrong weren’t they? Because you don’t believe that His blood is on their Children.

    So what is the point of the Bible recording that utterance by some of the Jews? Presumably they said other things as well – “What are we having for dinner tonight?”, “Have you seen the price of doves at the Temple these days? Oy Oy Oy!” etc. etc. But no, the Bible records the false self-incriminating confession and blood curse. Why? Particularly when it has been interpreted so harshly by later Christians and led to millions of deaths? Now Haynes can’t even repeat that passage on twitter because it is so painful for so many people

    Couldn’t God have forseen what was to happen? Why include that passage?

    Like

  5. No I don’t disagree with the Bible.

    The Bible records that Jesus was crucified. I believe that happened. It records that Jesus rose from the dead. I believe that. It says that Jesus said “love your neighbor”. I believe that. It says that people said maybe his blood be upon us. I believe some said that.

    If Wazza is going to be silly and argue that it says they “all” said that and thats fishy, then he’s being juvenile. The Bible often uses expressions like that. It say everyone in Jerusalem went out to be baptized by John. Nobody thinks that means that not one person living in Jeruslame was NOT baptized.

    Someone could say everyone was sad the day Lady Diana died. So…..are they lying if someone can find someone who didn’t care.

    No. Try a little harder guys.

    Like

  6. And all the people said, “His blood shall be on us and on our children!”
    “Rather unusual for a whole people to take responsibility for a murder, and not only that implicate their own children in perpetuity for the guilt.”

    I believe that a significant number of people at THAT time, expressed that sentiment. You don’t.
    But then I have no idea or what you read in the gospels and take to be true. See you still call yourself a Christian. But maybe you don’t believe that any miracles occurred. Or that ANY stories Jesus said were actually said by him. I really have no idea. I’ve studied all the ideas about how the gospel writers just made things up as they went. What I ask you as well as I asked my professors was “How do you decided what you think was true in the gospels.”

    “So do you think His blood is still upon them Q?”
    No, not at all.

    I’m not the slightest anti-semitic. I love Jews. I go even further and am pro-Israel.

    So, there you go. I can accept the gospel record, believe that the NT is not anti-semitic, and have never persecuted or even insulted a Jew once in my life.

    That to you may seem impossible. But it’s not.

    Okay, in the gospels, it says that Jesus said “Blessed are the meek”. I believe He said that.

    You and other liberal theologians might have all sorts of theories about whether he actually said that or not. But then, what is the basis of your faith at all? I have no idea.

    The other day in Iran a crowd yelled Death to the USA Death to Israel. Did every single Iranian in the country say it? Or even every single Iranian in the crowd say it? Did some say it and others said YEAH! I don’t know. But the report was that they were all yelling death to the USA. Does that mean that the news networks think everyone should exterminate Iranians everywhere and for all times?
    No.

    I have no problem with Aboriginals writing their history and saying that the white people stole their land, or killed their mother, or the British did this or that. And I could go on and on with examples.

    Some scriptures and facts about the death of Jesus have been used in different times of history by some sections of the church to persecute Jews. Jews have been persecuted by Germans, the Roman Catholic Church, and Luther said bad things.

    I don’t think all Germans, Catholics and Lutherans are anti-semitic.

    From what I know, Hillsong has never persecuted Jews and neither has Hayne.

    So, what you are doing is just completely inflammatory and ridiculous. The world just gets nastier.
    Its sad that a kid like Hayne gets accused like this. You’re not helping the situation. And you’re not helping peace in the world today, by trying to say that Hayne is anti-semitic, or that Christianity in general is.

    btw

    I love Israel!
    I think the Jewish people are incredible and the world is a better place because of their incredible contributions to science.

    The other day, a young educated middle class man murdered five marines in the US. He got serious about his religion. From what I read, he wasn’t Jewish. And in the last 5 years of my reading of the news, Jewish people have been attacked in Europe and in other countries. I not one case was the attacker a HIllsonger or an evangelical. Can you guess what religion they were?

    You can say that the New Testament is anti-semitic. But if I said the Koran was anti-semitic, you and others he would go bananas. That Is the real irony.

    The other incredible irony, is that one man here who wants to vilify Hayne, actually DID quote from the worst anti-semitic website I’ve seen.

    And he being a teacher should know better. A teacher who quotes anti-semitic websites, wants to lampoon a young footballer for being anti-semitic?

    When you can understand that, you’ll be able to unravel lots of mysteries.

    Actually I already understand it. It’s just that some people love to hate and criticise and attack.
    They don’t start churches, they don’t do anything productive, they just attack and attack and attack.

    And to justify they’ll do anything.

    Have a nice day. Leave Hayne alone, and leave the New Testament alone. Instead just read it and pray and become a better person and love others. Jesus was a Jew. God loves Jews. And God loves you too Wazza.

    Like

  7. Hey Bones, I thought all that stuff about Saint Pontius Pilate was a clever joke, but then I googled it. Amazing!! Talk about getting off scott free! Kill Jesus and then get sainted for it, while the rest of the community get persecuted for 2000 years.

    Like

  8. Matthew 27:25

    And all the people said, “His blood shall be on us and on our children!”

    Rather unusual for a whole people to take responsibility for a murder, and not only that implicate their own children in perpetuity for the guilt. So do you think His blood is still upon them Q?

    Like

  9. Darn it Wazza. Why didn’t Jarryd tweet me that June 25 was Saint Pontius Pilate’s day?

    Completely forgot.

    Like

  10. Lets face it, that part of the Bible is anti-semitic – Jarryd’s only fault was believing everything he reads in the Bible without thinking critically about it.

    The Gospel writers wanted to cuddle up to power, so they blamed the Jews for what the Romans did. “They never wanted to do it, but we forced them to”

    Its a bit like the Monty Python sketch

    Interviewer Stig, I’ve been told Dinsdale Piranha nailed your head to the floor.
    Stig No, no. Never, never. He was a smashing bloke. He used to give his mother flowers and that. He was like a brother to me.
    Interviewer But the police have film of Dinsdale actually nailing your head to the floor.
    Stig Oh yeah, well – he did that, yeah.
    Interviewer Why?
    Stig Well he had to, didn’t he? I mean, be fair, there was nothing else he could do. I mean, I had transgressed the unwritten law.
    Interviewer What had you done?
    Stig Er… Well he never told me that. But he gave me his word that it was the case, and that’s good enough for me with old Dinsy. I mean, he didn’t want to nail my head to the floor. I had to insist. He wanted to let me off. There’s nothing Dinsdale wouldn’t do for you

    Like

  11. Lance – could you please remove my last comment. It was inappropriatte and not funny. Apologies to Bones and GTE,

    Like

  12. The church he must be going to must be based in the first 17 centuries with that sort of nonsense. But yeah he’s just quoting the Bible. Surprised he hasn’t called for a crusade,

    Like

  13. @Bones.

    Yeah. He’s no anti-Semite.

    I know the point you’re trying to make,
    But I think he deserves a break. And I’d say that if he were a Calvinist, a liberal or a sweet transvestite from transexual Transylvania.

    He just had no idea

    Like

  14. Before you jump on me, yes I know the history of anti-semitism. But Hayne’s a kid. And most kids have no idea of history. Or anything. Justin Beiber was on Letterman talking about how he went to the “Sixteenth Chapel”. He may be a goose, but I don’t think Hayne would want to hurt a fly.

    Probably sportspeople need someone checking all their social media activities.

    Like

  15. Poor guy. He just didn’t have enough knowledge to know why people would be outraged.
    What he said has been said millions of times before.

    Someone should also warn him about watermelon and fried chicken when talking about his teammates.

    Like

  16. “Sometimes the Bible in the hand of one man is worse than a whisky bottle in the hand of another.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

