Andy Stanley arrogance apology

 

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports…

“A metro Atlanta megachurch pastor is in the hot seat for remarks he made about small churches and the parents that attend them in one of his recent sermons, according to a recent Christianity Today report.

Andy Stanley, pastor of North Point Community Church, referred to parents who attend churches with small congregations and no student ministries as “stinking selfish” in a Feb. 28 message titled “Saved By The Church,” according to the report by the media outlet, known for its coverage of Bible-based ministries.

North Point Community Church is a ministry with six locations across the metro Atlanta area.

Stanley founded North Point Ministries in 1995. The church’s services now reach 30,000 parishioners at campuses in Alpharetta, Buckhead, Decatur and Sugar Hill, according to North Point’s website.

According to the online magazine, Stanley said in his sermon:

“When I hear adults say, ‘Well I don’t like a big church, I like about 200, I want to be able to know everybody.’

I say, ‘You are so stinking selfish. You care nothing about the next generation. All you care about is you and your five friends. You don’t care about your kids [or] anybody else’s kids’ … If you don’t go to a church large enough where you can have enough middle schoolers and high schoolers to separate them so they can have small groups and grow up the local church, you are a selfish adult.

Get over it. Find yourself a big old church where your kids can connect with a bunch of people and grow up and love the local church. Instead… you drag your kids to a church they hate, and then they grow up and hate the local church. They go to college, and you pray that there will be a church in the college town that they connect with. Guess what? All those churches are big.”

Stanley swiftly received online criticism for his message, with some online commenters rejecting the megachurch pastor’s comments.

One such critic was California pastor Karl Vaters, who wrote a Christianity Today blog, “Dear Andy Stanley, Please Be the Small Church’s Ally, Not Our Enemy,” on the preacher’s sermon. 

“Andy Stanley – a guy I like, though we’ve never met – has engaged in some seriously small thinking by using some of the strongest insults I’ve ever heard uttered in a public forum against small churches,” the pastor of Cornerstone Christian Fellowship said in his blog post.

In response to the social media criticism, Stanley issued an apology on Twitter Thursday:

In his interview with Christianity Today, Stanley expounded upon his Twitter apology.

“I’m not looking for sympathy here,” Stanley said. “It was devastating because my words undermined the importance, significance, and sacrifice of thousands of church planters and ministry leaders.”

From http://www.ajc.com/news/lifestyles/religion/north-point-pastor-apologizes-small-church-selfish/nqgz6/

 

 

10 thoughts on “Andy Stanley arrogance apology

  1. Pray the sinner’s prayer? So I end up less dead? I don’t believe anything anyone says about God. Doesn’t matter how much you try to de-weird-ify Christianity.

    Like

  2. And the point of church is what? Give 10% of my income in the hope that my brain ghost ends up in fairy magic happy land when I’m dead? That’s some serious delusion.

    Yep – you’re spot on – that would be some serious delusion.

    I give hardly any money to my church – when I can I do, but it’s sporadic – but sometimes it’s quite a chunk – well once, once it was quite a chunk (in my terms – not Trumps). I give my time and skills mostly – and also my fingernail clippings if the sermon is boring – sux to be our cleaner!

    Brain Ghost…hehehehe – you come up with some seriously funny terms, brain ghost – I’m chuckling. No – my hope is not based upon some hoped for future – although, that may well be part of it – for me, it’s pretty much zero part of it as I’m not certain that there is an after life as as think of it – not the heavenly one wearing white robes and singing old Bing Crosby songs and playing baby violins and harps. I believe that the world will be renewed – the earth and the universe – but that’s for a different comment post.

    The importance of my faith for me is for the development of the me that lives now! It’s not about pie in the sky when we die – its about meat on the plate while we wait! How I live now is impacted by my beliefs – the service I offer others is a direct result of my faith in Jesus. You cold tell me tomorrow that when I die that’s the end – and it wouldn’t matter one little bit – because what I have now because of Jesus, is all I ever need.

    So – do you want to pray the sinners prayer?

    Like

  3. And the point of church is what? Give 10% of my income in the hope that my brain ghost ends up in fairy magic happy land when I’m dead? That’s some serious delusion.

    Like

  4. “but if you want to serve a very wide demographic and have a church that reflects the community – you need a big church.”

    Its gotta be horses for courses. Some people get energised by a big church and some people get drained by it – Introverts for example. They are 50% of the community. Most mega-church pastors can’t relate because they are strongly extrovert but it is likely that if you get a building and shove 3000 people in it, blast the congregation with an hour of poorly written pop/rock and then finish off with a flashy sermon with little content then you are not serving the whole community.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. It’s difficult to make superstition pay well. You could try the Hillsong approach, superstition lite, for those with less brains than a squashed gnat.

    Like

  6. The thing is – what he’s saying is true – my kids don;t come to my church because I’m 50 and I’m the youth group! We don;t have the resources to launch a youth program – unless something happens inside of the next 5 years the church I am training in will disappear off the face of the earth and not be of any use to anyone. Any pastor of a small church is lying through their teeth if they say they are happy with a small church – its fine if your only gong to be serving a very narrow demographic – then small churches work great – but if you want to serve a very wide demographic and have a church that reflects the community – you need a big church. Where I differ for Andy is in what i call a small church – what he calls a small church is what I call a big church – his idea of a big church – the mega church – is not biblical at all in my opinion

    Like

  7. It takes a certain amount of stubborn ignorance to maintain the arrogance that is a personality trait of most pastors. What person is going to admit that they have devoted a lifetime to studying and practising superstition and learning the vacuous nonsense of theology?

    Like

Leave a Reply

